Unsupported browser

For a better experience please update your browser to its latest version.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, for example so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Boris Johnson scoops RIBA honorary fellowship


London mayor Boris Johnson has been made an honorary fellow of the RIBA

Johnson was among 14 well-known names given the prestigious title today including dissident Chinese artist Ai Weiwei and Civic Trust Awards boss Malcolm Hankey.

His mayoral predecessor Ken Livingstone landed a FRIBA five years ago.

The RIBA Honorary Fellowships are given out annually to people thought to have made a ‘particular contribution’ to architecture.

Other winners this year included City of London chief planning officer Peter Rees, former CABE chief executive Richard Simmons and RIBA British Architectural Library assistant director Robert Elwall.

RIBA president Angela Brady said: ‘Each of this year’s Honorary Fellows has made an enormous contribution to architecture, whether as a practitioner, designer, curator, writer or policy maker.

‘The RIBA values everything that they have brought – in their very different ways – to the knowledge, understanding and appreciation of the world of architecture. I look forward to presenting them with their Honorary Fellowships in February.

RIBA international fellowships were also awarded to Momoyo Kaijima and Yoshiharu Tsukamoto of Atelier Bow-Wow in Japan; Carlos Ferrater of Office of Architecture in Barcelona, Spain; Sou Fujimoto of Sou Fujimoto Architects, Japan; Germany’s Anna Heringer; Switzerland’s Christian Kerez and Francisco Mangado of Spain.

This year’s honours committee was chaired by Brady and included architects David Adjaye, Yvonne Farrell, Niall McLaughlin, Sarah Wigglesworth, and Terence Conran.

The 2012 RIBA Honorary Fellowships will be awarded to:
  • Nicole Crockett, chief executive, Building Exploratory
  • Robert Elwall, assistant director, Photographs Collection, British   Architectural Library, RIBA
  • Adrian Forty, academic and writer
  • Malcolm Hankey, managing director, Civic Trust Awards
  • Boris Johnson, mayor of London
  • Doug King, environmental engineer, King Shaw Associates
  • Fiona MacCarthy, writer
  • Frank McDonald, environment editor, Irish Times
  • Sandra O’Connell, writer and curator, Open House Dublin
  • Peter Wynne Rees, chief planning officer, City of London
  • Peter Salter, academic and writer
  • Richard Simmons, academic and former Chief Executive, CABE                                  
  • Chris Smith, national planning director, English Heritage
  • Ai Weiwei, artist

Readers' comments (3)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions.

Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.