By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Bennetts and Wigglesworth appointed CABE commissioners

Architecture minister John Penrose has appointed Rab Bennetts and Sarah Wigglesworth as CABE’s newest commissioners

On 15 September Bennetts of Bennetts Associates and Wigglesworth of Sarah Wigglesworth Architects will attend their first CABE Commission meeting along with re-appointed incumbents Joyce Bridges, MJ Long and Lorna Walker.

Paul Finch, CABE chair, described the pair as ‘extremely high calibre’ architects with ‘influential design practices.’

He said: ‘They will bring to the Commission the kind of creative flair and technical expertise that will help us to champion great architecture and support others in creating great places.’

He added: ‘The reappointment of Joyce Bridges, who remains as deputy chair, means we retain a highly respected voice on planning and strong links with English Heritage.

‘Lorna Walker’s expertise in engineering and sustainable development gives the commission real breadth and engagement beyond the world of architecture and design, while MJ Long’s reappointment keeps a superb chair of Design Review and a champion of affiliated design review panels.’

Rab Bennetts and Professor Wigglesworth succeed Robin Nicholson of Edward Cullinan Architects and Irena Bauman of Bauman Lyons Architects, whose commissioner terms expired this year.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters