By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


AJ100 building of the year shortlist revealed

The full shortlists for this year’s AJ100 awards, including the building of the year prize, have been unveiled

Winners of the awards - which celebrate success among the UK’s biggest 100 firms - will be announced at the AJ100 Members Dinner on 18 May.

Full AJ100 listings and analysis will be published in the AJ on 19 May.

The judges for building of the year prize included AJ editor Christine Murray, Zaha Hadid Architects principal Patrik Schumacher and DEGW founding partner Frank Duffy.

AJ sustainability editor Hattie Hartman judged Sustainable Practice of the Year with Adam Ritchie, senior partner at Max Fordham and Piers Taylor, founding partner of Mitchell Taylor Workshop.

The Members Dinner will be held at the Grange St Paul’s Hotel in London. Tickets are available from


Full shortlist

Building of the year
sponsored by Saint-Gobain

Practices were asked to submit a single project completed in 2010, which was assessed by the AJ100 judging panel, Christine Murray, Frank Duffy and Patrik Schumacher


Sustainable practice of the year
sponsored by Samsung Chemical

Practices were asked to demonstrate their commitment to sustainability and green innovation, which was assessed by the AJ100 judging panel, Hattie Hartman, Piers Taylor and Adam Ritchie

  • Atkins
  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Hopkins Architects
  • Stephen George & Partners
  • Jestico + Whiles
  • Page \ Park Architects
  • Purcell Miller Tritton

Highest new entrant

This award goes to the practice that entered the AJ100 for the first time at the highest position this year

  • _Space Group
  • CZWG Architects
  • Nicholas Hare Architects
  • ORMS Architecture Design


Fastest-growing practice
sponsored by BST Global

This award is given to the firm that increased its fee earnings and number of architects by the highest percentage

  • John Thompson & Partners
  • Rolfe Judd
  • John McAslan + Partners
  • Broadway Malyan
  • Feilden + Mawson
  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • RTKL

International practice of the year
sponsored by Hilson Moran

This award is based on the firm’s percentage growth fees and increase in architects employed in overseas markets

  • RTKL
  • Foster + Partners
  • Atkins
  • KPF
  • Chapman Taylor
  • John McAslan + Partners


AJ100 practice of the year
sponsored by Schüco

This award is based on business and design output, according to the key business data from the main AJ100 survey and employee survey

  • Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Darling Associates
  • Foster + Partners
  • Hawkins\Brown
  • Make
  • Page \ Park Architects
  • Woods Bagot

Employer of the year
sponsored by Bespoke Career Management

  • Architecture plb
  • Darling Associates
  • John Thompson and Partners
  • Paul Davis + Partners
  • Purcell Miller Tritton


Regional Awards to be announced for…

  • Midlands
  • North East and Yorkshire
  • North West
  • Northern Ireland
  • Scotland
  • South East and London
  • South West
  • Wales


Contribution to the profession

  • To be announced



Readers' comments (1)

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters