By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


AJ unveils AJ100 shortlist 2009

The Architects’ Journal has revealed the shortlist for its much-coveted AJ100 Awards 2009, the definitive list of the UK’s top 100 architectural firms

Three new categories have been added to this year’s event: Building of the Year, Practice of the Year and Employer of the Year join more established categories such as Fastest-Growing Practice, Highest First-Time Entrant and International Practice of the Year.

For the first time ever, the AJ has released the shortlisted practices vying for each category.

Winners for the highly prized awards will be announced at the prestigious AJ100 dinner, which will take place on 27 May at East Wintergarden in Canary Wharf, London.

The shortlisted firms are:

AJ100 AWARDS 2009Architect
Highest First-Time Entrant 
 Boyes Rees Architects
 Darling Associates
 HKS Architects 
 Scott Wilson
 Studio E Architects
 The Manser Practice
 TODD Architects
 Watkins Gray International
 Weston Williamson
Fastest-Growing Practice 
Sponsored by BST GlobalEllisWilliams Architects
 Purcell Miller Tritton
 Wimberley Allison Tong and Goo
 Bond Bryan Architects
 NPS Property Consultants
 Taylor Young
Employer of the Year 
Sponsored by SIVArchial Architects
 Capita Architecture
 Chapman Taylor
 Purcell Miller Tritton
 Scott Brownrigg
Regional Awards
Sponsored by Griffiths & Armour
 Archial Architects
 Pick Everard
North East and YorkshireHLM Architects
 NPS North East
 Swanke Hayden Connell
North WestBDP
 Purcell Miller Tritton
Northern IrelandBDP
 Scott Wilson
 TODD Associates
ScotlandArchial Architects
 Cooper Cromar
South East and LondonChapman Taylor
 Purcell Miller Tritton
 Scott Brownrigg
South WestArchial Architects
 Capita Architects
 Purcell Miller Tritton
 Holder Mathias Architects
 Stride Treglown
Building of the Year 
 Foster + Partners - Beijing Capital International Airport Terminal 3
 Feilden Clegg Bradley Studio - St Mary Magdalene Academy and Rosedale Early Years Centre
 Allies and Morrison - 13b Paradise Street, Liverpool One
 HOK - Haileybury Almaty School, Almaty, Kazakhstan
 Eric Parry Architects - St Martin in the Field
International Practice of the Year 
Sponsored by Hilson MoranAtkins
 Foster + Partners
 Hopkins Architects
 Lewis and Hickey
 Woods Bagot
Practice of the Year 
Sponsored by SchücoChapman Taylor
 Darling Associates
 HKS Architects 
 Hopkins Architects
 John Thompson and Partners

Two further categories - Most Sustainable Practice and Clients’ Practice of the Year - will be announced shortly, while the Contribution to the Profession Award will be announced on the night.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters