By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


AJ Special: RIBA announces Special Awards finalists

The RIBA has today unveiled the shortlists for its special awards, which will be presented at the Stirling Prize ceremony in London on 17 October.

The Crown Estate Conservation Award  

The £5,000 first prize is handed to the best work of conservation demonstrating the successful restoration and/or adaptation of an architecturally significant building.

  • St Martin-in-the-Fields, Eric Parry Architects and Caroe & Partners
  • No 12 Lincoln’s Inn Fields, Julian Harrap Architects
  • Tyneside Cinema, Fletcher Priest Architects and Cyril Winskell Architects
  • Midland Hotel, Morecambe, Union North and Avanti Architects
  • Bofors tower, private house, Allies and Morrison (pictured below)

RIBA/CABE Public Space Award

This £5,000 award celebrates publicly accessible external space, whether it is green or grey, urban or rural, privately or publicly owned, designed or redesigned and re-furbished for public use.

  • New Street Square, Bennetts Associates
  • 5 Aldermanbury Square, Eric Parry Architects (pictured below)
  • Liverpool One masterplan, BDP
  • Castleford Bridge, McDowell + Benedetti

Stephen Lawrence Prize

Sponsored by the Marco Goldschmied Foundation, the prize is awarded to the best projects with a construction budget of less than £1 million. The £5,000 prize is intended to encourage fresh talent working with smaller budgets.

  • Long Barn Studio, Nicolas Tye Architects
  • Deal Pier, Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • ‘El Ray’ private house, Simon Conder Associates (pictured below)
  • Hind House, John Pardey Architects
  • House in Highgate Cemetery, Eldridge Smerin

The RIBA/Sorrell Foundation Schools Award

The £5,000 prize goes to the best RIBA Award-winning school (primary or secondary).

  • Merchants’ Academy, Penoyre & Prasad
  • The Minster School, Penoyre & Prasad
  • St Mary Magdalene Academy, Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • Falmouth School Design and Technology Studio, Urban Salon (pictured below)

Client of the Year Award

The RIBA Client of the Year Award recognises the role good clients play in the delivery of fine architecture. Clients are nominated either by RIBA Awards Group judges or their architects.

  • Laura Lee, Maggie’s Centre, London, by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
  • Reverend Nicholas Holtam, St Martin-in the-Fields by Eric Parry Architects
  • Roy MacGregor, Kentish Town Health Centre by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • Rod Holmes (Grosvenor), Liverpool One masterplan by BDP(pictured below)
  • Peter Sharpe, Kielder Observatory by Charles Barclay Architects

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters