By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


CIOB Announces New Categories for Innovation and Research Awards

The Chartered Institute of Building has announced six new categories for its International Innovation and Research Awards

Undergraduate Dissertation Award
These awards are for outstanding dissertation research from students who are from degree programmes accredited by the CIOB. Dissertations must have been assessed as first class honours with a mark of at least 70% from students studying for their first degree.

Masters Dissertation Award
These are awards in recognition of the importance of research undertaken at master’s degree level.

Innovation Competition
In recognition of the important contribution those in practice make to innovation and research in construction, the CIOB is inviting members to submit a brief report detailing a successful innovative practice.

Pera Prize
Pera is an international network of technology development and industry support centres that help firms to develop innovative new products; improve business performance and enhance management and leadership skills. The winner of the Pera prize will see their innovative concept proceed through the stages required for commercialisation.

This prize, sponsored and supported by Pera, is open to entrants who can demonstrate that their innovation is able to create intellectual property rights and be capable of being patented.

The Pera Prize is worth €55,000 in the form of business consultancy leading to a funding submission. To benefit from funding the applicant must be based in the UK or Europe.

Faculty of Architecture and Surveying Innovation Award
The Faculty of Architecture and Surveying (FAS) is sponsoring an award for innovative practice in the areas of architecture or surveying.

International Construction Project Management Association Award
The International Construction Project Management Association (ICPMA) is an international umbrella association founded in June 2003 by representatives of International Construction Project Management Institutes. The ICMPA Award focuses on practical innovation in the field of Construction Project Management.

Further information can be found at

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters