By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Channel 4 to show Grand Designs Home of the Year competition

The third annual Grand Designs Home of the Year contest, which was launched yesterday, is to be televised by Channel 4 this summer.

This is the first TV exposure for the awards, which is judged by a public vote and aims to ‘celebrate the passion of the British people for their homes’.

According to Grand Designs presenter Kevin McCloud, who has hosted the show since its first airing in 1999, the awards will recognise ‘excellence not effort’.

He said: ‘Grand Designs tries to, wherever possible, celebrate what is truly exemplary in the built environment – what we are looking for is homes that are a joy and move domestic architecture forward.’

There are five entry categories leading to the Home of the Year title – best new build, best restoration, best conversion, best eco home and best redesigned home.

McCloud added: ‘The shortlist in each of these categories will be drawn up by some of the great luminaries from architecture and design, people like Ken Shuttleworth, Will Alsop and Wayne Hemingway. But what’s really exciting is that it will be the public who will ultimately decide the winners and the overall champion.’

Anyone wishing to enter should apply online at before midnight on Sunday, 10 February 2008.

Only homes built – or which have had work completed on them – in the UK between 1 January 2006 and 31 December 2007 will be eligible.

To read the AJ's full interview with Kevin McCloud click here.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters