By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Leslie Riddoch to chair 2013 Saltire Housing Design Awards

Broadcaster and journalist Lesley Riddoch will chair the Scottish awards alongside newly appointed convenor Jude Barber of Collective Architecture

Riddoch follows in the footsteps of architects Dick Cannon, John McAslan, and Malcolm Fraser who have each chaired the jury behind the prestigious Scottish housing awards in previous years.

Riddoch said: ‘There is no more important influence in our lives than the homes we inhabit and the buildings we work in or visit. They create comfort or distress, health or harm and delight or disappointment on a daily basis. These days great design demands great awareness in the way people really use space. And design covers everything from large tenant-led retrofitting schemes to the tiniest eco-home construction and all points in between.’

Jude Barber of Collective Architecture, whose housing project was featured in the AJ’s More Homes Better Homes issue, has taken over the role of convenor of the awards from Jane Paterson, partner at Paterson Architects. Barber was also shortlisted for last year’s AJ emerging woman architect of the year award.

The Saltire Society’s Housing Design Awards advocate innovation and excellence in Scottish housing.

Last year the Saltire Medal was awarded to Dualchas Architects for their house at Boreraig and Kirk House.

The deadline for submitting projects for the 2013 awards is 26 April 2013.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters