By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


AJ Women in Architecture Awards shortlists revealed

The shortlist for this year’s Woman Architect of the Year and Emerging Woman Architect of the Year awards have been announced

Alison Brooks, Clare Wright, Ellen van Loon, Francine Houben, Kathryn Findlay, Mary Duggan, and Sheila O’Donnell have been shortlisted for the Woman Architect of the Year Award.

Eight up-and-coming architects were named on the shortlist for the Emerging Architect of the Year Award.

All winners will be announced at the AJ Women in Architecture luncheon at the Langham Hotel on 22 March, where Denise Scott Brown will deliver an exclusive pre-recorded address.

To purchase tickets or a table for the AJ Women in Architecture Luncheon, click here

This year’s jury includes Laura Lee, Victoria Thornton, Doreen Lawrence, Ivan Harbour, Paul Monaghan, Rafael Viñoly and Zaha Hadid. In choosing the winner judges will be looking for excellence in design, thought leadership and someone who is a role model for aspiring architects.

The two awards form an integral part of the AJ’s Women in Architecture campaign, sponsored by Roca and Place Careers.

Woman Architect of the Year shortlist

Alison Brooks, director, Alison Brooks Architects

Clare Wright, founding partner, Wright & Wright Architects

Ellen van Loon, partner, OMA

Francine Houben, founder, Mecanoo Architects

Kathryn Findlay, director, Ushida Findlay Architects

Mary Duggan, founder, Duggan Morris Architects

Sheila O’Donnell, co-founder, O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects

Emerging Woman Architect of the Year shortlist

Amritha Ballal, founding partner, SpaceMatters

Anna Page, senior architect, Atelier Zumthor

Bev Dockray, director, Coppin Dockray Architects

Fiona Scott, founder, Gort Scott

Hazel Rounding, director, ShedKM

Lisa Basu, project architect, Fereday Pollard

Maria Smith, founding director, Studio Weave

Olga Felip, co-founder, Arquitecturia

The shortlist was nominated by the AJ readership and winners of the awards will be selected by the jury, along with this year’s winner of the Jane Drew Prize.

The jury for the awards is:

Zaha Hadid, Zaha Hadid Architects

Rafael Viñoly, Rafael Viñoly Architects

Martha Thorne, executive director, The Pritzker Architecture Prize

Moira Gemmill, design director, V&A Museum

Ivan Harbour, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners

Doreen Lawrence, founding director, Stephen Lawrence Trust

Laura Lee, chief executive, Maggie’s Centres

Paul Monaghan, AHMM

Colette O’Shea, head of London portfolio, Land Securities

Peter Rees, chief planning officer, City of London

Victoria Thornton, founding director, Open-City

Chair: Christine Murray, editor, Architects’ Journal






Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters