By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Winners chosen to reinvent 'more democratic' town halls

The judges of the Designs on Democracy competition to reinvent the town hall, backed by the AJ, IPPR, CABE and the Design Council, have selected three winners for its sites - at Stockport, Bradford, and Letchworth in north Hertfordshire.

The triumphant practices are, respectively: ABK, Bauman Lyons and DSDHA, which defeated six other firms at the shortlisting stage.

The winners, each receiving £10,000, were announced at a ceremony on Monday night with head of judges Robin Nicholson, the IPPR's Matthew Taylor and Tony McNulty MP, design champion for the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.

McNulty said: 'Bad design can be a barrier to participation, and all too often the poor quality of public buildings can drive people away I am delighted by this project, not only because of the sheer quality of all the designs but because they share one common aim - bridging the gap between people and place.'

An exhibition of all the winning and shortlisted schemes is on show at the RIBA until 26 January.

lSee Designs on Democracy special feature, pages 23-30

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters