By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.




The winner of the RIBA Stirling Prize 2005 - the tenth Stirling Prize - is to be announced this week. This year's shortlisted buildings are: the Lewis Glucksman Gallery in Cork by O'Donnell + Tuomey Architects; the Scottish Parliament, Edinburgh, by EMBT/RMJM; Fawood Children's Centre, London, by Alsop Design; the McLaren Technology Centre, Woking, by Foster and Partners;

Jubilee Library, Brighton, by Bennetts Associates and Lomax, Cassidy & Edwards; and the BMW Central Building and Plant in Leipzig, Germany, by Zaha Hadid Architects. On the following pages we show each of the shortlisted projects along with extracts from the judges' comments.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters