By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Saltire Society unveils 2001 Housing Award winners

The Scottish parliament's minister for social justice, Jackie Baillie, announced the Scottish Saltire Society Housing Awards last week. They are:

McKeown Alexander for New Build 3, Graham Square in Glasgow;

Page and Park for phase 2A of Crown Street, Gorbals in Glasgow;

Crallan and Winstanley for the New House at Locharthur Community, Beeswing in Dumfries;

Elder and Cannon for phase 3A of Crown Street, Gorbals in Glasgow.

McKeown Alexander also picked up a commendation for its Terrace and Object Building, Homes for the Future, Lanark Street, Glasgow.

And Law and Dunbar Naismith was commended for Stanley Mills near Perth.

McKeown Alexander's scheme for Graham Square was for the Molendinar Park Housing Association - winner of the RIBA's Client of the Year award, announced alongside the Stirling Prize.

Director of McKeown Alexander Ian Alexander said the project had 'put down a new marker for the standard of housing in Scotland'.

Judges for the 2001 awards included David Page, Roan Rutherford and director and chief architect of the Scottish Executive, Dr John Gibbons.

The Saltire Society Housing Design Awards were established in 1936 to encourage building design that reflects the Scottish environment - both urban and rural - and respects design tradition.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters