By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Rogers lines up names for urban task force


A strong architectural flavour is expected in the group chosen to head an investigation into development of brownfield sites under the chairmanship of Lord Rogers. As the aj went to press, names likely for inclusion were: developer Stuart Lipton and academic Ricky Burdett, both of whom acted on the jury for the Greenwich Millennium competition; Professor Peter Hall (a fellow trustee of the Architecture Foundation), Sir Colin Stansfield Smith; Lorna Walker of Ove Arup; Martin Crookston of Llewelyn-Davies (who has been working on housing densities); Sir Crispin Tickell (former un ambassador); housebuilder Alan Cherry; housing expert Anne Power; Anthony Dunnett (chief executive of English Partnerships); and Anthony Mayer (Housing Corporation).

The group has been formed to investigate how to locate a substantial proportion of new housing over the next 20 years in cities rather than countryside/edge of city. The group, to be known as the Urban Task Force, will report to deputy prime minister John Prescott.

Construction minister Nick Raynsford this week opened an exhibition on the Millennium Village proposals at the riba, saying that he hoped the sustainable principles in the 'visionary and exceptional' Erskine/ Hunt Thompson scheme could be repeated in five nation-wide sites that ep is to earmark. The show includes all four shortlisted schemes and runs until 16 May.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters