By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


RIBA champions cash prize for top educationalists

The RIBA is launching a £10,000 award to honour those who make an outstanding contribution to architectural education.

The biannual RIBA Annie Spink Award for Excellence in Education is open to individuals or groups of teachers working on any internationally recognised RIBA course.

The award is financed by the Annie Spink Trust Fund, which was established in 1974 by architect Herbert Spink, a partner in one of Britain's oldest architectural practices. He bequeathed the trust as a lasting memorial to his wife Annie, who had died in 1938, and conceived of it as an honour for the 'advancement of architectural education'.

This year's judges are head of theory and history at the Berlage Institute in Amsterdam Roemer van Toorn, head of Cambridge School of architecture Peter Carolin, teacher and journalist Kester Rattenbury, chair of the RIBA education committee and AJ columnist Paul Hyett and former President's Medals winner Julia von Rohr. The award will be presented by Marco Goldschmeid at a joint ceremony with the President's Medals.

Applications for the RIBA Annie Spink Award are due by 4 August, 2000. For details of how to apply, visit www. architecture. com and search for 'Annie Spink' or contact the Library Information Unit, Royal Institute of British Architects, 66 Portland Place, London W1N 4AD, e-mail, tel 0906 302 0400 (public info line - calls cost 50p per minute).

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters