By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Miliband names practices for school exemplars

Minister for schools David Miliband has named the 11 practices that will design the exemplars for school buildings to be replicated across the country under the government's Schools for the Future initiative.

Miliband has asked Walters and Cohen, Building Design Partnership, Marks Barfield Architects, Cottrell and Vermeulen Architecture and Sarah Wigglesworth Architects to design the primary schools.

The minister has also commissioned Alsop Architects, Wilkinson Eyre Architects, de Rijke Marsh Morgan, Penoyre & Prasad Architects and RTKL Architects to work on the senior schools.

Miliband has asked Feilden Clegg Bradley Architects to draw up plans for an 'all-through' school, which will educate children throughout their school career from the age of five to 18.

The exemplars produced by these practices will be used by other architects and local authorities to develop plans for their own schools.

'School buildings need to provide a pleasant and comfortable environment for learning, ' Miliband said at the announcement last week. 'They need to stimulate children's imaginations and be open for wider use, binding schools to their local communities.

'The exemplar schools will not just be a template but a vital starting point for schools and local communities to tailor their plans to the needs of pupils, staff and the wider community, ' he added.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters