By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Institute picks its latest honorary fellows

Lord Jacob Rothschild, trustee chairman of the National Gallery, and Financial Times architectural critic Colin Amery are two of the latest nominations for RIBA honorary fellowships.

The line-up, expected to be confirmed at RIBA council this week, also includes John Worthington, a founder and deputy chairman of DEGW, and Professor Wu Liang Yong, a 77-year-old Chinese architect who studied under Eliel Saarinen. Writer Jan Morris, artist Deanna Petherbridge, estate agent David Rosen - who acquired for the Saatchis their new Harper Mackay-designed headquarters in Golden Square - and 'forthright' journalist, historian and lecturer Dr Gavin Stamp have also been nominated.

Hungarian architect Imre Makovecz, 63, and Professor Jacques Heyman, head of the engineering department at Cambridge University, round off the RIBA's list for 1998.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters