By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


Gold digging


Bookmakers offering virtual odds on this year's Royal Gold Medallist (to be announced on Wednesday week at the next RIBA council session) won't get much comfort from an examination of this year's judges, chaired as usual by the RIBA president. Since they include a range of architects and critical positions from Lord Foster to Mohsen Mostafavi it is difficult to imagine how consensus might be reached.Were Astragal to have a flutter, however, three joint favourites have emerged from the throng. One would be Peter Cook, representing the Archigram group - arguably the only truly influential British contribution to 20th century architecture (sort of including High-Tech). Representing European Modernism is Rafael Moneo, surely bound to win one year. Finally, and bound to draw support from the High-Tech and engineering lobby, there is Frei Otto, patron saint of tensile structures.Take your pick.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters