By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.




David Chipperfield Architects, Flacq and Wilkinson Eyre are among eight European practices shortlisted in the competition to design the velopark for the London 2012 Olympics. Joining them on the shortlist are David Morley Architects, Dominique Perrault Architecture, FaulknerBrowns with Heatherwick Studio, Foreign Office Architects and Hopkins Architects with Sanda Douma Associates. The eight teams will now be asked to put forward design concepts for the velodrome and a temporary BMX circuit, and will be judged by a panel including Ricky Burdett (whose rough sketch of the 2012 Olympic site, including the velopark, is pictured on the right) and 2004 Olympic-gold-medal-winning cyclist Chris Hoy. The winner will be announced in the summer.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters