By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.




Judging took place over a four-month period from July to November 2005. Since 2001, the dissertation judging panel has always made an initial shortlist. An international judge then joins the panel to discuss the final selection and establish the dissertation medallist. Previous international judges were: Professor Edward W Soja (UCLA), Professor Christine Boyer (Princeton University), Kim Dovey (University of Melbourne) and Professor Kari Jormakka (Vienna University of Technology). This year's international judge was Professor Arie Graafland, Professor of Architectural Theory at the Faculty of Architecture at Delft University of Technology. One Dissertation Medal and three commendations were awarded by the judging panel. All prize-winning dissertations are kept in the British Architectural Library at the RIBA in London.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters