By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


ARB 'dissenters' get voted back on the board


ARB 'rebels' Marco Goldschmied, Amanda Levete and Frank Duffy have been elected back onto the board of the body they resigned from in disgust at Christmas.

The trio was elected to serve as architect members last week when a disappointing turnout of less than one architect in four nevertheless returned them as their top three choices. The others elected were, in order, Susan Ware, Ian Davidson, Owen Luder and Larry Rolland.

In a statement a 'delighted' ARB chairwoman Barbara Kelly said: 'Those that have served before will bring vital continuity and experience and Susan and Ian will, no doubt, bring fresh ideas and a wealth of experience to the table.'

Kelly added that she hoped to be able to 'move forward with renewed commitment and that the concerns raised over the last few months can now be laid to rest.' Amanda Levete added that she was

Paul Hyett commented: 'It;'s a very good result and it's endorsed the decision of those who resigned on principle that they have the respect of the profession at large.'

The elected members take office from 1 April 2000 and will serve for three years.

Just 6,818 valid papers were returned from 29,801 issued, representing 22.8 per cent. In 1997 24 per cent returned a similar looking group.

The unsuccessful candidates this time were Jonathan Ball, Victor Baisl, Michael Foster, Peter Jacob, Lester Korzilius, Yasmin Shariff, Roger Shrimplin, Samuel Webb and RIBA presidential candidate last time round John Wright.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters