By continuing to use the site you agree to our Privacy & Cookies policy

Your browser seems to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of this website, please enable cookies in your browser.


Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.


AJ100 Sustainable practice of the year - 2013

Winner: Hawkins\Brown - This award is for a practice’s outstanding commitment to sustainable design, based on evidence of exemplar built work, research, commitment to building performance monitoring and other initiatives

After extensive debate, Hawkins\Brown was unanimously voted this year’s AJ100 Sustainable Practice of the Year for ‘its nuanced and connected approach to sustainability’, which contrasted with a more technocratic approach of several of the other shortlisted practices. The jury observed that this ‘more subtle integration of sustainability should be the default position because it is relevant to the majority of architects’. The jury also felt that AJ100 practices should use their position to influence policy, standards, processes and procurement which impact sustainability. Previous winner Sheppard Robson’s broad industry engagement was noted by the jury.


Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
Sheppard Robson
Stride Treglown
Wilkinson Eyre
- Highly commended

The judges

Meredith Davey, senior associate director, Atelier Ten
Hattie Hartman, sustainability editor, The AJ
Piers Taylor, founder and architect, Invisible Studio
Sarah Wigglesworth, director, Sarah Wigglesworth Architects

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment.

Related Jobs

Sign in to see the latest jobs relevant to you!

The searchable digital buildings archive with drawings from more than 1,500 projects

AJ newsletters